Alerts Button
Podcasts Button
Youtube Button
Traffic Button
ListenLive Button


High: 107 °F
Low: 71 °F


High: 103 °F
Low: 66 °F


Partly Sunny
Partly Sunny
High: 90 °F
Low: 62 °F

Ten COC Football Players Sign With Four-Year Schools

khts_sportsTen players from the College of the Canyons football team will continue their careers at four-year colleges in the fall.

Outside linebacker Justin Cudworth is headed to Eastern Michigan. The sophomore led the select group and had 47 tackles and 5.5 sacks for the Cougars in 2010.

Sophomore offensive lineman Steven Haunga is headed to Arkansas State. Fellow lineman, freshman Randy Horton, will play at Nevada.

Two players are headed to Portland State and two are going to Robert Morris.

COC quarterback Justin Arias will play at Idaho State.

“The Cougar football program had another great year in placing players in four-year universities,” said Cougar head football coach Garett Tujague. “There was a tremendous amount of effort by the players and support staff to help today become a reality. Today is just another example of the dedication the college has towards helping student-athletes succeed.”

Here is a list of the players and where they are going to play next season:

Player                           High School                Pos.            Destination                        Div.

Justin Arias                     Agoura                       QB              Idaho State                          Div. I FCS

Khalil Bass                     Crespi                          LB               Portland State                      Div. I FCS

Jeremy Boone                Shaker Heights             DE               Portland State                      Div. I FCS

Justin Cudworth            Agoura                          OLB             Eastern Michigan                  Div. I FBS

Steven Haunga               Spring Valley, Nev.       OL               Arkansas State                     Div. I FBS

Randy Horton                Simi Valley                     OL              Nevada                                 Div. I FBS

Rickeem Jackson           Ocoee, Fla.                   WR             Robert Morris                         Div. I FCS

Emanuel Koleosho          Holy Angels, Minn.         DL              Charleston Southern               Div. I FCS

Antwan Smith                Henry E. Lackey, Md.     FS              Robert Morris                         Div. I FCS

Will Namoa                    Waianae, Hawaii           DL              Benedictine College                NAIA